Roll of Honour

Agricultural Communicator of the Year - Roll of Honour

2023          Tangaroa Walker

2022          Bryan Gibson

2021          Craig 'Wiggy' Wiggins

2020          Katie Milne

2019          Susan Murray

2018          Mike Petersen

2017          Lain Jager

2016          Dr Tim Mackle

2015          Chris Garland

2014          Bruce Wills

2013          Doug Avery

2012          Steve Wyn-Harris

2011          Jon Morgan

2010          Jacqueline Rowarth

2009          Rod Oram

2008          Trevor Cook

2007          David Henshaw

2006          Jamie Mackay

2005          Doug Edmeades

2004          AgriFax, David Meares and Rod McKenzie

2003          Deric Charlton

2002          Neville Martin

2001          No 8 Wired Team

2000          Robin Campbell

1999          Tony Leggett

1998          Glenys Christian

1997          Kevin Iken

1996          Hugh Stringleman

1995          RNZ Rurals Team

1994          Philippa Stevenson

1993          Owen Jennings

1992          Clive Dalton

1991          Brian Chamberlin

1990          Don Carson

1989          Frank Torley

1988          Harry Broad

1987          Peter Burke

B.E. Talboys Award for excellence in agricultural communication

1985         Roland Clark

Ministry for Primary Industries Rongo         

2022          Kate Evans, Australian Geographic & New Zealand Geographic

                 Runner Up, Anne Lee, Dairy Exporter

2021          Country-Wide team, RNZ

                 Runner Up, Sally Round, RNZ's Country Life

2020          Sally Round, RNZ Country Wide

                 Runner Up, team from NZ Dairy Exporter 

2019          Country-Wide Team

                 Runner up,  Carol Stiles, RNZ Country Wide

 2018         Joint Winners

                 Hugh Stringleman and Neal Wallace, Farmers Weekly

                 Runners Up, Susan Murray and Carol Stiles, RNZ Country Life

2017          Alexa Cook, RNZ Rurals

                 Runner Up The Dairy Exporter team, NZ Farm Life

2016          Aaron Smale, Freelance, NZ Geographic and North and South

                 Runner up,  Neal Wallace, NZ Farmers Weekly

2015          Susan Murray,  Country Life, RNZ News

                 Runner Up, Country-Wide Team

OSPRI New Zealand Rongo Award

2014          Benedict Collins, RNZ Rural News

                 Runner Up Terry Brosnahan, Country-Wide

TB Free NZ Rongo Award

2013          Susan Murray, RNZ Country Life

                 Runner up, NZ Farmer Team, Fairfax Media

2012          Benedict Collins, Country99TV

                 Runner Up   Shawn McAvinue, Southland Times 

Guild Award

2011          Hugh de Lacy, Mg Business

                 Runner Up,  Jon Morgan, Dominion Post

BNZ Rongo Award

2010         Richard Rennie, NZX Agri (freelance)

                 Runner up, Sandra Taylor

2009          John Morgan,  Dominion Post

                 Runner up, Country Wide team 

2008          Tony Benny, Country Calendar

                 Runner Up Tim Cronshaw, The Press

2007          Aaron Smale, Freelancer

                 Runner up Hugh Stringleman, NZ Farmers Weekly

2006          Carol Styles, Country Life, RNZ

                 Runner Up Hugh Stringleman, NZ Farmers Weekly

2005          No record

2004          Jerome Cvitanovch, Country Calendar

                 Runner up, Glenys Christian, Growing Up 

2003          Jon Morgan,  Dominion Post

                 Runner Up Emma Robinson O’Brien  (TV?)

2002          No 8 Wired Team: Don Carson, Scott Chambers, Rachel Donald Humphrey, Sue Malcolmson,  Emma Robinson O’Brien, Brett Tompkins, Janet Tyson

                 compilation of articles on dairy effluents

                 Runner Up, Philippa Stevenson, NZ Herald, series on breaking Powdergate story

2001          Carol Stiles, RNZ Country Life

                 Runner up, Philippa Stevenson, NZ Herald

2000          Susan Murray, RNZ Country Life

                 Runner Up, Philippa Stevenson, NZ Herald 

1999          Catherine Harris, RNZ News

                 Runner up, Neal Wallace, Otago Daily Times

1998          Joint winners

                 Sarah Wallis and Brian Crump, Radio New Zealand

                 Neal Wallace, Otago Daily Times

1997          Mike Bland, Farming with Pictures

                 Bob Edlin   The Independent, Rural News 

1996 Joint winners

                  Jill Galloway, Radio New Zealand

                  Andrea Fox, Waikato Times

Sponsor National Bank

1995          Hugh de Lacy, The Deer Farmer

                 Runner up, Susan Murray, Radio New Zealand

1994          Joint winners

                 Jill Galloway, Radio New Zealand

                 Andrea Fox, Waikato Times

                 Runner up, Philippa Stevenson

1993          Donna McKindley-Willison, Country Calendar

                 Highly Commended, Glenys Christian, NZ Herald

First winner         Jon Morgan (no record of date)