Announcing a new agricultural journalism award for 2021: Ministry for Primary Industries Fit for a Better World Award

Posted: 28-Sep-2021

A new journalism award designed to recognise the importance of innovation and technology in supporting sustainability and modern regenerative production systems and sponsored by the Ministry for Primary Industries has been introduced by the New Zealand Guild of Agricultural Journalists and Communicators this year.

The Guild has been running awards for journalists for over 30 years to encourage and recognise excellence in agricultural journalism and the important role it plays in shaping our understanding of agriculture – the backbone of this country.

As well as the highly coveted Ministry for Primary Industries Rongo Award for Excellence in Agricultural Journalism entries are now open for all categories in this year's competition: 

  • Federated Farmers Rural Photography Award
  • Beef + Lamb Hard News Award
  • Ko Tātou This Is Us Biosecurity Journalism Award
  • AgResearch Science Writers Award
  • Alliance Group Ltd Red Meat Industry Journalism Award
  • DairyNZ Dairy Industry Journalism Award
  • Ministry for Primary Industries Fit for a Better World
  • Federated Farmers Agricultural Broadcast Journalism Award
  • TUANZ New Zealand Rural Connectivity Award
  • Zespri Export Journalism Award
  • NZGAJC Agricultural Journalism Encouragement Award
  • NZGAJC Primary Sector Communications Campaign Award

The closing date for all awards is 5pm on Sunday 3 October. The winners will be announced at the Awards Night in Wellington on Friday 26 November.

All awards criteria and more information can be found on the NZGAJC website:


For more information, contact

Sara Passmore, National Secretary, ph 0224356117

« Back to news