Welcome to the Guild

Susan Murray wins IFAJ award

Posted: 20-Apr-2017

Susan Murray-smlSusan Murray of Radio New Zealand’s CountryLife has received the 2017 Star Prize for Broadcasting – Audio, from the International Federation of Agricultural Journalists (IFAJ) for her “Ngati Porou Want Honey, Not Money” broadcast.

Murray was recognised at a ceremony Monday night at IFAJ’s World Congress in Pretoria, South Africa. Her award includes a €500 prize.

One judge applauded Murray’s “well-told rural development story explaining both micro and macro-economic sides.” Another was touched by the way the story illustrated how “the people who take the risks, do the work, [are] so vulnerable to price-taking.”

The judging panel for the Star Prize for Broadcast included veteran broadcasters Ian Petrie of Canada, Ken Rundle of the United Kingdom, and Australian Neil Inall. Leigh Radford of Australia’s ABC coordinated the Broadcast awards.

“Susan Murray’s wonderful broadcast illustrates the power of great radio,” said Steve Werblow, IFAJ secretary general. “The expert construction of the piece, outstanding reporting, and deep feeling for the personalities of her sources make this piece a world-class segment.”

A 30-minute broadcast by Cassandra Steeth of the Australian Broadcasting Corporation (ABC) on controlling feral deer on a rural sheep property received special recognition at the award ceremony as well.

Murray was not in South Africa to pick up her prize in person, but it was accepted on her behalf by the Guild's National Executive member Jacquie Harrigan who is attending the Congress.

And the link     http://www.radionz.co.nz/programmes/regional-wrap/story/201824422/ngati-porou-want-honey-not-money

« Back to news

Nominations now OPEN for 2018 Ravensdown Agricultural Communicator of the Year Award

Nominations are now called for from Guild members for individuals to be considered for the 2018 Ravensdown Agricultural Communicator of the Year Award. This award recognises and honours people or groups who have made major contributions to the agricultural sector by communicating relevant and important information to the sector or about the sector.

All nominations should be in by Monday 21 May 2018.

Read more for more information and a nomination form ...



Latest News

Sheryl Brown, deputy editor for NZ Dairy Exporter, is the winner of this year’s Congress Travel Grant ...
Posted: 08-Feb-2018
Click here

A Wellington-based Radio New Zealand Radio Rurals journalist won the top award for agricultural journalists at the 2017 awards...
Posted: 14-Oct-2017
Click here

Zespri chief executive Lain Jager is the winner of the 2017 Ravensdown Agricultural Communicator of the Year.
Posted: 14-Jun-2017
Click here

Susan Murray of Radio New Zealand's CountryLife received the IFAJ 2017 Star Prize for Broadcasting.
Posted: 20-Apr-2017
Click here