The Guild offers a series of awards each year, in conjunction with our sponsors, for excellence in written and broadcast agricultural journalism. In addition, the Communicator of the Year award is presented in June of each year in Hamilton.

See the Roll of Honour board listing present and previous winners of the Agricultural Communicator of the Year Awards. Lists of other awards will be added soon.

2017 Awards

Nominations have now CLOSED for the Ravensdown 2017 Communicator of the Year Award. See here for more detail

Application forms for the Guild Journalism and Photography Awards will be available from this page in July/August 2017.

2016 Guild Awards

A Levin freelance journalist now working for RNZ News, Aaron Smale, was the 2016 winner of the top award for agricultural journalists.

Aaron won the supreme award, the Ministry for Primary Industries Rongo Award, which recongises excellence in agricultural journalism. the AGMARDT Agribusiness Award and also the Federated Farmers Rural Photography Award. He is pictured right receiving the 2016 MPI Rongo Award from MPI's Sid Pickering.

Read more here ...


2016 Landcorp Communicator of the Year Award

The chief executive of DairyNZ, Dr Tim Mackle (picture left), was the winner of the 2016 Landcorp Agricultural Communicator of the Year Award, which was presented at a function in Hamilton in June.

The judges noted that in his time as DairyNZ CEO, Tim's excellence as a communicator has enabled him to provide an extraordinary level of leadership for the dairy sector. This was particularly evident over the previous 12 months when the industry faced a difficult period in the media, with low milk prices, issues with animal welfare and environmental standards.

Read more here ...